Multiple synced pihole docker instances

I’ve been running a pihole on a raspberry pi 3b for a few years now.
I noticed a few weeks ago that there was something wrong with it. It was working, but something was wrong. Long story short, the SD card decided to switch itself in to read only mode.

I ended up ordering two M2 SATA SSDs and two USB enclosures. I have another pi (4b) running homeassistant, so to preempt the SD card failing, I figured I’d replace it with an SSD too.

Since the pihole was working albeit in readonly mode, I figured I would set up a pihole docker instance on one of my vms. Used teleporter and I was up and running fairly quickly. There’s a nice guide available on using a macvlan network and cloudflared to give the containers their own subnet addresses, rather than bridging the docker network. The only caveat is that the docker host can’t talk to the containers without some faffing around. Fortunately that isn’t an issue in my use case. I set up a second vm/docker host for redundancy.

The SSDs arrived yesterday, so I got the pi’s up and running, although I decided to set up pihole in a docker container rather than installing it directly on the host as I had it before. Also, it was a lot faster to get it running since I just had to copy one of the existing instances folders across, modify the compose file, and “up” the containers.

Of course, it was then that I discovered that cloudflared do not make an arm64 version of their container. Fortunately some bloke has built a drop in replacement that does actually work on a pi.

Now I have 3 pihole instances running. I definitely don’t need 3, and even 2 is a bit much, but at least now if I need to reboot the pi, I don’t have to stop name resolution for the whole network. I’ll leave the third instance running for a while, though I’ll probably get rid of it eventually.